Project No. 42 – Construction of a two-floor-boarding house with sanitary facilities for at least 160 children in Duc Xuan, Bắc Quang District (Ha Giang Province)

Status September, 2022:

In 2022, after more than two years of corona restrictions, our German team finally had the opportunity to travel to Vietnam again in March (Isabelle Müller and Corinna Buchholz), June (Isabelle Müller) and September (Isabelle Müller). We first visited the province of Ha Giang together with our Vietnamese team in September. In addition to older projects, we also visited 3 boarding houses that we had recently realized and handed over online during the Corona period. We also met old and new scholarship holders personally. This trip was also a good opportunity to visit Duc Xuan (Bắc Quang District). In 2021, the primary and secondary school of this commune had asked us for help. Our Vietnamese team was on site at that time and had sent an initial report to us in Germany. Now I (Isabelle Müller) was able to get my own picture of the situation on site.

Bắc Quang is a rural district of Ha Giang Province in north-eastern Vietnam and is located about 60 km from the city of Ha Giang. It is bordered by Ham Yen District (Tuyen Quang Province) to the east, Luc Yen District (Yen Bai Province) to the south, Quang Binh District to the west and Vi Xuyen District to the north. Bắc Quang has two cities and 21 communes (Quang Minh, Tân Thành, Tân Quang, Tân Lập, Việt Vinh, Hùng An, Đồng Yên, Đông Thành, Vĩnh Phúc, Vĩnh Hảo, Tiên Kiều , Viứt Hồng, Kim Ngồng Thượng Bình, Vô Điếm, Bằng Hành, Hữu Sản, Liên Hiệp, Đức Xuân, Đồng Tâm and Đồng Tiến).

The total area covers 1,104.01 km2. About 28,535 households or 123,349 inhabitants live there, divided into 19 ethnic minorities. Among them, the Tay minority amounts about 50%.

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Völker_Vietnams

Duc Xuan is a commune in Bắc Quang district about 45 km far from the district center. It covers a natural area of 6,255.09 ha, of which 5,341.18 ha are used for agriculture, accounting for 85.39%. The soil is fertile. The temperatures there are 2 or 3 degrees lower than elsewhere in the district. The harvests usually fall up to 2 weeks later than usual. The commune’s potential lies in the cultivation of medicinal plants and fodder, in raising cattle and developing tourism.

The commune counts 536 households with 2,338 inhabitants from 5 ethnic groups . Over 50% of all households are poor. There are 2 schools in total (1 kindergarten, 1 primary and secondary school)

Duc Xuan Primary and Secondary School is about 45 km far from the center of Bắc Quang District. Currently in 2022 the school has 442 students in a total of 16 classes (grade 1 to grade 9). Of these, 292 are primary school students and 149 are secondary school students. 50% of all students belong to the Dao ethnic minority, the remaining 50% are Tay or Nung. The school also has 5 sub-schools in some remote villages.

The furthest distance from home to school for a child is 12 km (about 3 hours walk) and the closest distance is 3 km. Currently in 2022, the school has 250 students who would like to overnight at school during the week (it is expected to be 320 students in the next school year), however the school does not have enough dormitories for them. Only about 150 students are allowed to stay in the dormitories on the school premises (those who live far away from school and live in very difficult family circumstances). All other children have to walk home every day.

There are only 4 toilets on the school premises, far too few for the large number of children.

Looking towards the future, Duc Xuan commune is in need of following:

  • 1 new boarding house (2-floor-building with 10 bedrooms) for at least 160 students
  • Sanitary facilities (1 for boys, 1 for girls) and showers (1 for boys, 1 for girls)

Total amount needed: USD 120.919,19

As a turnover foundation, the LO-ANH Foundation (LOAN Stiftung) can provide help directly. We would like to carry out this project, but are dependent on every financial donation. We remain optimistic that we will be able to collect the necessary funds.

In cooperation and in continuous contact with our Vietnamese partners, we will as always supervise and guide this project personally and on site. We will report on the progress regularly.

We would be delighted if you were to provide us with moral and financial support in this endeavor. Thank you very much!

Projekt Nr. 42 – Bau eines zweistöckigen Internats mit sanitären Anlagen für mindestens 160 Kinder in Duc Xuan, Bắc Quang Distrikt (Provinz Ha Giang)

Stand September 2022:

Im Jahr 2022 hatte unser deutsches Team nach über zwei Jahren Corona-Einschränkungen endlich wieder die Möglichkeit, im März (Isabelle Müller und Corinna Buchholz), Juni (Isabelle Müller) und September (Isabelle Müller) nach Vietnam zu reisen. Die Provinz Ha Giang haben wir erst zusammen mit unserem vietnamesischen Team im September besucht. Neben ältere Projekte haben wir u.a. 3 kürzlich realisierte Internate besucht, die wir in der Corona- Zeit online übergeben hatten. Auch haben wir alte und neue Stipendiat:innen persönlich getroffen. Diese Reise war eine gute Gelegenheit, um nach Duc Xuan (Bắc Quang Distrikt ) zu fahren. Bereits im Jahr 2021 hatte die Grund- und weiterführende Schule dieser Gemeinde uns um Hilfe gebeten. Unser vietnamesisches Team war damals vor Ort gewesen und hatte vorläufig einen ersten Bericht nach Deutschland geschickt. Nun konnte ich mir (Isabelle Müller) ein eigenes bild der Situation direkt vor Ort machen.

Bắc Quang ist ein ländliches Distrikt der Provinz Ha Giang im Nordosten Vietnams und liegt ca. 60 km von der Stadt Ha Giang entfernt. Im Osten grenzt es am Distrikt Ham Yen (Provinz Tuyen Quang), im Süden am Distrikt Luc Yen (Provinz Yen Bai), im Westen am Distrikt Quang Binh und im Norden am Distrikt Vi Xuyen. Bắc Quang hat zwei Städte und 21 Gemeinden (Quang Minh, Tân Thành, Tân Quang, Tân Lập, Việt Vinh, Hùng An, Đồng Yên, Đông Thành, Vĩnh Phúc, Vĩnh Hảo, Tiê.n Kiều , Việt Hồng, Kim Ngẩu, Thượng Bình, Vô Điếm, Bằng Hành, Hữu Sản, Liên Hiệp, Đức Xuân, Đồng Tâm und Đồng Tiến).

Die Gesamtfläche umfasst 1.104,01 km2.. Dort leben ca. 28.535 Haushalte oder 123.349 Einwohner, aufgeteilt in 19 ethnischen Minderheiten. Darunter macht die Minorität der Tay mit 50 % den größten Anteil aus.

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Völker_Vietnams

Duc Xuan ist eine Gemeinde im Distrikt Bắc Quang und liegt ca. 45 km vom Bezirkszentrum entfernt. Es umfasst eine natürliche Fläche von 6.255,09 ha, von denen 5.341,18 ha landwirtschaftlich genutzt werden, was 85,39 % ausmacht. Der Boden ist fruchtbar. Die Temperaturen sind dort um 2 oder 3 Grad niedriger als woanders im Distrikt. So fallen die Ernten in der Regel bis 2 Wochen später als sonst. Die Potenziale der Gemeinde liegen im Kultivieren von Heilpflanzen, im Anbau von Futter, in der Viehzucht und der Entwicklung des Tourismus.

Die Gemeinde hat 536 Haushalte mit 2.338 Einwohnern, in denen 5 ethnische Gruppen zusammenleben. Über 50% aller Haushalte sind arm. Insgesamt gibt es 2 Schulen (1 Kindergarten, 1 Grund- und weiterführende Schule)

Die Grund- und weiterführende Schule von Duc Xuan liegt ca. 45 km vom Zentrum des Distriktes Bắc Quang. Derzeit in 2022 hat die Schule 442 Schüler:innen in insgesamt 16 Klassen (Klasse 1 bis Klasse 9). Davon sind 292 Grundschüler und 149 Sekundarschüler. 50% aller Schüler:innen gehören der ethnischen Minderheit der Dao an, die restlichen 50% sind Tay oder Nung. Die Schule hat außerdem 5 Unterschulen in einigen abgelegenen Dörfern.

Der weiteste Weg von zu Hause zur Schule ist für ein Kind 12 km lang (etwa 3 Stunden zu Fuß) und der nächste Weg ist 3 km. Derzeit in 2022 hat die Schule 250 Schüler:innen, die unter der Woche gerne in der Schule bleiben würden (es werden voraussichtlich 320 Schüler:innen im nächsten Schuljahr sein), doch verfügt die Schule nicht über genügend Schlafräume für sie. So wird es nur ca. 150 Schüler:innen erlaubt, in den Schlafräumen auf dem Schulgelände zu bleiben (denen, die weit entfernt von der Schule wohnen und in sehr schwierigen familiären Verhältnissen leben). Alle anderen Kinder müssen täglich nach Hause laufen.

Auf dem Schulgelände gibt es nur 4 Toiletten, weit zu wenig für die große Anzahl der Kinder.

Demnach benötigt die Gemeinde Duc Xuan Folgendes:

  • 1 neues Internat (zweistöckig mit 10 Schlafräumen) für mindestens 160 Schüler:innen
  • Toiletten (1 für Buben, 1 für Mädchen) und Duschen (1 für Buben, 1 für Mädchen)

Benötigtes Gesamtvolumen: USD 120.919,19

Als Verbrauchsstiftung kann die LOAN Stiftung direkt handeln. Wir würden dieses Projekt gerne durchführen, sind aber auf jede finanzielle Spende angewiesen. Wir bleiben optimistisch, dass wir die notwendigen Mittel einsammeln können.

In Zusammenarbeit und in ständigem Kontakt mit unseren vietnamesischen Partnern werden wir dieses Projekt wie immer persönlich und vor Ort betreuen und begleiten. Wir werden regelmäßig über die Fortschritte berichten.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn Sie uns bei diesem Vorhaben ideell und finanziell unterstützen würden. Vielen Dank!